I Made a Great Mistake!

20111103-162610.jpg
I yelled at a first grader today. Well honestly, I didn’t yell, but I was very stern. It’s just that when a characteristically brooding, 6 1/2 foot tall black man with a deep voice and a sharp tongue packs all of that power down into a crouch to stand face-to-face with a 6 year old, 3 foot tall asian boy throwing a temper tantrum, things can suddenly seem quite amplified.

Too bad I didn’t think about that before it happened, in fact, if I didn’t have another adult in the room when it happened, I may have never been aware of just how scary I am.

Thank you for having the courage to listen, understand, sympathize, and correct me, Miss Tiffiny. I’ve learned something very valuable from you today. Thank you for complimenting my humility in accepting error, Miss Rachel. I replied with some throw away comment mostly to erase the biting shame of making a mistake, but the truth is that your words helped soothe me.

I haven’t always been honest about it, but it’s painful to be told that I’m wrong. If I’m really honest with myself, it’s
embarrassing for me. At the same time though, there was freedom and hope. It was an innocent mistake, I didn’t lose control, I only exerted too much, it can be fixed. I’m glad I know that it needs fixing, there is a peace that comes with knowing the truth. Yeah, I made a mistake, but I made a few apologies and now, I’m a better man for it. I’m proud to wear that mistake, I’m a new man now.

You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32 HCSB)

4 responses to “I Made a Great Mistake!

  1. Always remember to take things in stride. Everyone hates being wrong and making mistakes but we are not perfect nor can we ever be. But we need to remember that we can change for the good and that life is about learning. Keep your head up and stride onward towards being the man that I know God wants you to be.

  2. I only hope you’d do the same for me. You are an amazing man, whom God is using greatly to bless everyone at our school.

Any thoughts?

