Walking Home in the Rain Ain’t as Bad as it Seems

Last night, I walked home in the rain! No pain, no gain! – Propaganda

I heard that line in a rap a few years back and I’ve always envied it. Even now, I’ll admit that there’s something sort of romantic about it. It’s one of those Rocky moments where a person’s bare determination is vibrantly put on display, and the caliber of their character is put into the limelight. I’ve always kind of secretly hoped for one, and on Monday night, I got my wish.

I worked from 9 to 6 making phone calls at the chiropractor’s office and took every spare moment I had on the phone waiting for either an answer or a voicemail to admire the quiet rainstorm outside. I love the sight and sound of it! And though it slowed considerably by the time I was off, it was enough to make waiting for the #8 bus at 6:26 slightly dreary, it didn’t really bother me though, I had Shad blasting in my earphones, so I was a happy man.

I was responding to a Facebook comment on my phone when I noticed the bus pull up to the adjacent stoplight, patiently waiting to make a left turn towards my stop. It’s 6:25, so he’s a minute early but it’ll be nice to get out of this drizzle and sit down for a bit. I step up to the bus stop sign at the same time he makes his left turn while reaching into my wallet for my Day Pass. As I slip my wallet back into my pocket, I look up just in time to see the bus driver driving past me, eyes fixed firmly ahead.

It’s like he didn’t even see the stop!

I don’t even know why, but that made me angry. I already knew that the next one wasn’t coming for an hour, so I called James to see if he was at home. He wasn’t. I could’ve called a couple more people but I didn’t even feel like it. All I knew is that I didn’t want to be there anymore, so I just started walking. I felt like I desperately needed to write something, so I did. On Facebook… I was just whining about my life just like everyone else, but I didn’t see that yet. I didn’t see that until right after I finished writing and turned my music back on. These were the very first words I heard:

“I didn’t promise you a rose garden. Along with the sunshine, there’s gonna be some rain sometimes”

Instant humiliation. It didn’t stop there either.

“Heard a voice say, ‘Hey, you never question when you get the blessing, so don’t get vexed when your life is stressed. And I promised I’ll be with you, no matter what the issue, but there will be some issues to address.'”

Isn’t funny how God speaks through music sometimes? When it all came down to it, I had no reason to be whining and upset. God was certainly addressing the issue too: My bad attitude.

I ended up playing this song on repeat all the way home and you know what? My walk was great! No drama or angst about it at all, nothing like Rocky. I was passionately rapping along and laughing about it for most of the trip! I can only wonder what I must’ve looked like to the people driving by me, but I can only imagine that my character was on display, just in a much different way than I’d ever envisioned.

Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing. (James 1:2-4 NLT)

Any thoughts?

