Running From the Truth

Taken from tumblr

It’s not a bad thing that we all desire to feel comfortable. In fact, if I sat down on a cactus and my body didn’t immediately feel uncomfortable, then there would be something quite wrong with it. Discomfort exists so that we can know that something needs to change. When we move from discomfort to comfort, it should be a sign that everything is good, that the threat to our harm doesn’t remain. The problem comes when the threat has not been removed, but only ignored. If my body tells me that I am sitting on a cactus and that several needles are poking into my soft “sitting tissue”, I need to move. That is the right way to conquer my discomfort. The wrong way to solve it is to slightly shift to the side so that it hurts a little less, and then shift again when it becomes too much again, and then again, and again, etc. That is America’s problem, we try to resolve our unhappiness, problems, and pain by making small adjustments to temporarily feel better about the problem when the problem still isn’t solved.

I’m not just talking politics either, I’m talking about yesterday when I ran out of time to brush my teeth before I left the house so I threw a piece of gum in my mouth instead. You better believe that I brushed my teeth this morning! Gum is just a temporary fix and a more permanent one was needed. I’m talking about when I have a bad attitude, and turn on some music when eventually, I will need to deal with my problem. I’m talking about shopping when you’re depressed, playing video games when you’re angry, coffee when you’re tired, all of that. Temporary solutions are fine, but we cannot spend our whole lives jumping from band-aid to band-aid, eventually we need surgery, especially spiritually. We can do everything in the world to try to be a good person, but at the bottom of each of us is a fissure where evil desires and intentions continue to ooze out of us, and until we have found a remedy for that, we have not been fixed.

What if I told you that this leak wasn’t bad? What if the leak was entirely necessary for life and that what comes up from it is what the real problem is. What if we could have truth, goodness, beauty, and life springing up from the cracks instead? What if we could each be a well of pure, just desires and good intentions?

Jesus said, “Everyone who drinks from this water will get thirsty again. But whoever drinks from the water that I will give him will never get thirsty again—ever! In fact, the water I will give him will become a well of water springing up within him for eternal life.” John 4:13-14

It’s possible! But there’s only one place you can get this water, one place you can go to gain a new heart, one place where you can find a real solution. Jesus Christ, and all you have to do is ask Him for it.

Any thoughts?

