Never Forget Why You Fell In Love

Sometimes doing what you love for work is a terrible idea.

Now, why in the world would I say that? Well, because it’s true. Sometimes it really is. It’s the reason that I haven’t even looked at this blog in a month.

There are two reasons I write: To give life to others and to grab life for myself.

I’ve been neglecting that second reason.

I can’t remember the last time I wrote just to express myself or just because I had something to get off of my chest. I haven’t been writing about the things that excite me, the things that hurt me, what I’ve been worried about, or the interesting ideas that have popped into mind. All of my writing has been because people have been asking me to do it.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve enjoyed writing all of these poems and sermons! I’ve enjoyed the conversations they’ve sparked, the laughs they’ve provoked, and the stories they’ve inspired people to share. God has really given me a powerfulgift and He’s been using it to do great things! I just have to remember that He’s given me an even greater gift, a soul. And unless I feed it adequately, what my words accomplish is unimportant.

No matter how successful you become at it, never forget to do what you love because it gives you life FIRST. You can’t give anything that you don’t first possess for yourself.

Any thoughts?

