#35 What am I attempting to create through this year-long artistic endeavor?

I desire to amass a collection of my own honest feelings and ideas.

I want to display the well of strength contained within the admission of our own frailty.

I want to push the limits of my own notions of poetry and the art of painting spoken and written word pictures along with its perception as an increasingly irrelevant art form.

I aim to tear away the average person’s preconceptions of God, the Bible, and present-day Christianity.

I aim to boldly and unapologetically display the raw, naked beauty of the unexamined and ordinary while forcefully exposing the broken, wretched nature of the facades and systems we create to disguise the faults that keep us ignorant and fearful of our true selves, and the inherent dignity that lies beyond them.

I yearn to make a space for respectful, heartfelt, and honest conversation to quietly carve new ways forward in sensitive and painful topics and discussions.

I will show the world that healing is real and it is available in infinite capacities alongside forgiveness so long as we have the strength to embrace our need for it.

I aspire to tell every person who comes into contact with my work that they are good enough, that they are worth it, and that we are never alone as I strive to learn these things for myself.

I will show that hope is real, and that she will never leave us so long as we are faithful to welcome her when she approaches.

I endeavor to demonstrate that the full divinity of all beauty, truth, and goodness is vain and powerless if not wrapped in and girded with love.

Love is all.

To proclaim that love created the cosmos, and its word binds the universe together. Everything ever created, great or small, was done so for the sake of love, in the name of love, and with the intent of gaining or showing love. Everything.

My wish is that you all know that there is nothing more important than love, and that our lives center themselves on its distribution and reception, because it governs our lives.

May we love well, in both word and deed. May we love others more than ourselves and our dreams, more than things. May our lives be free from the love of money and power. Instead, may they be full of the love of justice, righteousness, virtue, liberty, beauty, and peace, so long as they are for the sake of all.

May everything I create lead to this world, and may Jesus bring it quickly.

[Inspired by Evangelion creator, Hideaki Anno’s essay What are We Attempting to Create by Doing This Once More?]

Any thoughts?

