#55 [Exposed.]

“It is better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.” – Abraham Lincoln

“Even fools are thought wise if they keep silent, and discerning if they hold their tongues.” – Proverbs 17:28 NIV

 

Which would be worse: to open my mouth and expose my foolishness, or to keep it closed and forever remain so?

Last night, I was in a place where everyone around me felt strongly about something I definitely wasn’t moved by, and I didn’t know what to do about it. I certainly wasn’t going to pretend that I felt like everyone else when I didn’t. I felt the need to say something, but I didn’t want to seem rude or rebellious, or even spoil what was happening for everyone else.

At first I thought that maybe everyone else was exaggerating, but I quickly changed my mind about it: maybe I just hadn’t made it to whatever other point everyone else had made it to. Maybe they’re NOT exaggerating, maybe there’s some stage of maturity I simply haven’t reached yet? That compounded the psychological struggle. Now, if I say I don’t see it, I’ll be the fool that doesn’t understand. But damn that, I don’t. So I have to say something, don’t I?

Which would be worse: to open my mouth and expose my foolishness, or to keep it closed and forever remain so?

So I spoke.

After class though. Just me and the teacher.

I decided that I couldn’t remain silent or remain foolish. I had to open my mouth.

The only way I could change was by being unafraid of exposure.

Any thoughts?

