#66 Immature.

As I finished teaching my high school class yesterday, I was walking through the church office on my way to put my classroom materials away when I bumped into a crowd of people. As I greeted them each, I came to my friend’s mom. I hugged her and she inquiringly mentioned that she had seen that I was recently single on Facebook. I confirmed it.

“Good.” her words shot at me full of blunt intent, “You don’t need to be in a relationship anyway.”

I deflected her comment with a grin,

“I guess not!”

About 10 seconds later, I accepted the weight: She was absolutely right.

Short and sweet, I was too immature… Or I am too immature. My ex would never say it, but to some degree, it cost me my relationship… It brought some scripture to mind:

Flee from youthful passions, and pursue righteousness, faith, love, and peace, along with those who call on the Lord from a pure heart. —2 Timothy 2:22

Youthful passions. It isn’t just lust, (though it’s definitely included) in the next verse, Paul specifically mentions foolish and ignorant disputes to demonstrate his meaning. Frankly, I make unnecessary comments to get rises out of people, I spend outside of my budget just because I want something, I ignore my writing schedule, I don’t fight my laziness and lust… blah, blah, blah. My life reeks of lack of discipline. It probably radiates from me. That’s probably what my friend’s mom saw in me yesterday: my carefree attitude, my careless posture, my neglecting to prioritize, my general lack of concern… I’m starting to see that maturity means dealing with these things, and I’m ready to begin. I don’t want to see something so petty cost me anything so significant again.

Enough is enough.

Any thoughts?

